Roasted Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Soup

266f924f1d4e6f7a7191a5c1ab553047

(picture from the original recipe)

No joke, people, this is the easiest, cheapest, healthiest and most delicious soup recipe I have found on Pinterest yet.  It doesn’t have a single unhealthy (or expensive) ingredient, and it makes lunch for about 7-10 days!  I made this entire soup for about 6 bucks… Which is pretty unreal considering a can of unhealthy, salty, preservative-ridden soup is $2.50 at Loblaws!

The ingredients I used (a little different from the original) are:

– 3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed

– 1 large head of cauliflower, cut

– olive oil (to drizzle on cauliflower)

– salt and pepper (for cauliflower)

– 1 onion, chopped (I diced it, I like to taste onion as little as possible)

– 2 cloves of garlic

– 7 cups of water (I start with 6 just in case – I like my soup thick and hearty)

– salt to taste

I always buy cauliflower, but sometimes the head starts to turn brown a little sooner than I can consume it.  I’m only one person, so when I buy a giant head, it’s good to know I have this recipe to ensure my veggies don’t go to waste!

So here’s how the soup goes:

– preheat your oven to 400 F

– cut up the cauliflower and place on a baking sheet (tossed in a bit of olive oil and sprinkled with salt and pepper)

– let the cauliflower roast for 20-30 minutes, until golden brown

– fill 2 large pots, each with half of the water, and boil

– add in peeled and cubed sweet potatoes, roasted cauliflower, chopped onion and diced garlic

– keep simmering the veggies until the potatoes are soft

– using an immersion blender (or a regular blender/food processor if you don’t have one), blend one of the two pots

Here’s where I got inventive.  I wasn’t too sure how much of the soup I actually wanted to blend… So I grabbed a large bowl (the one I use to bake cookies) and added the blended soup as I went)

– keep the other half unblended if you want to have chunks of veggies in your soup (I ended up blending about 3/4, maybe even more).

– add salt to taste

photo

VOILA: Here was my finished product.

As you can see, I like my soup really thick and hearty.  I blended most of the soup and probably less water than recommended (mine looks a lot more pureed than the picture from http://www.manifestvegan.com) but this is totally up to personal preference. Because the sizes in veggies can vary so much, it’s always better to go easy on the water.  If you have abnormally thick soup, you can always add more water later, but you can’t take it out!  I had 3 GIANT potatoes so I probably ended up using 7.5 cups in the end, but I only started with 6.

542696_10151365495007626_999166967_n

I stored the soup in tupperware containers in my freezer (which does not change the taste or texture whatsoever) and let them defrost whenever I’m craving it! It can be frozen and refrozen as many times as you like.  As you can see, I now have a whole lotta soup in my freezer.

Hope you enjoy and stay sparkly, 

Victoria

this recipe is originally from http://www.manifestvegan.com

One thought on “Roasted Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Soup

Leave a Reply

